Taylor Announces NAMM Artist Lineup

Friday January 9, 2009
By: Taylor Guitars News

Earlier today, Taylor Guitars announced its all-star lineup of accomplished musicians and rising stars appearing and performing over three days of the National Association of Music Merchants (NAMM) tradeshow. Beginning at 2:00 p.m. Thursday through Saturday, the Taylor Guitars stage will come alive with brilliant sights and sounds spanning Latin rock and post-hardcore, to country and southern gospel.

To kick off the show, renowned acoustic guitarist and legendary 12-string fingerstylist Leo Kottke will make a rare NAMM performance on Thursday, January 15th at 5:00 p.m. Kottke, a self-styled virtuoso, is known for his contemporary acoustic sound and droll wit. His celebrated 1969 release, 6- and 12-String Guitar launched his recording career, which has spawned an amalgam of harmony, rhythm, blues, pop, jazz, and lyrics, often featuring his dry humor.

On Friday, Sixwire will bring its “edgy-country” sound and strong vocals to headline the evening. In 2007, Sixwire received national acclaim as the runner-up of the FOX reality TV show, The Next Great American Band. Comprised of Andy Childs (guitar, piano, lead vocals), Steve Mandile (guitar, vocals), Robb Houston (guitar, vocals), along with bassist John Howard and drummer Chuck Tilley, Sixwire first received national attention in 2002 when they charted two singles on the Billboard country charts. This will mark the band’s third appearance at NAMM on the Taylor Guitars’ stage.

Shaw Blades, featuring the arena rock duo of Tommy Shaw (Styx) and Jack Blades (Night Ranger) from the early ‘90s supergroup, Damn Yankees, will headline on Saturday. Long time Taylor players, Shaw Blades began their collaboration in the mid-‘90s with their first album, Hallucination, which was later followed by Influence, a compilation of cover songs mostly from the1970s.

At press time, other artists scheduled to perform include Latin rock sensation, Carina Ricco, Americana and southern gospel band, The Whistlestop, as well as country musicians, Jonalee White and Dennis Agajanian. Also taking the stage, poetic rocker Elliot Murphy, along with post-hardcore band, Pierce The Veil, and two of Taylor’s well-loved signature artists: dynamic fingerstylist, Doyle Dykes and Ultimate Guitar Show host, Marc Seal.

All artist appearances and times are subject to change. For the most current lineup of events, please visit Taylor Guitars at NAMM, booth 213 on the second floor.

Thursday, January 15th
2:00 p.m. Dennis Agajanian (www.dennisagajanian.com)
3:00 p.m. The Whistlestop (www.whistlestopmusic.com)
4:00 p.m. Doyle Dykes (www.doyledykes.com)
5:00 p.m. Leo Kottke (www.leokottke.com)

Friday, January 16th
2:00 p.m. Carina Ricco (www.carinaricco.com)
3:00 p.m. Marc Seal (www.marcseal.com)
4:00 p.m. Doyle Dykes
5:00 p.m. Sixwire (www.sixwire.com)

Saturday, January 17th

2:00 p.m. Elliot Murphy (www.elliottmurphy.com)
3:00 p.m. Jonalee White (www.jonaleewhite.com)
4:00 p.m. Pierce The Veil (www.myspace.com/piercetheveil)
5:00 p.m. Shaw Blades(www.myspace.com/shawbladesinfluence)

To see live performances of Taylor Guitars artists and for show updates, please visit www.taylorguitars.com/videos as we'll be posting daily updates.

Become
an insider

Subscribe and receive our monthly insider newsletter in your inbox.