Taylor Artists Lead CMA Nominations

Monday September 14, 2009
By: Taylor Guitars News

The nominees for the 43rd annual Country Music Academy Awards were announced on September 9 and were laden with Taylor artist nominations.

Leading the pack is longtime friend of Taylor and crossover superstar Taylor Swift (PSGA, GS8, 615ce, PS-LTD, T5-S, K65ce, SolidBody Classic). Swift is up for awards in four categories: Female Vocalist, Album of the Year (Fearless), Music Video (“Love Story”), and Entertainer of the Year. At age 19, Swift is the youngest nominee ever for Entertainer of the year — considered country music’s most prestigious award — and this year’s lone female contender in that category. It also marks the first time in nine years that a solo female artist has vyed for the award.

Legendary country crooner George Strait (cocobolo 910) also has his hat in the ring for Entertainer of the Year, along with Male Vocalist of the Year and Music Video of the Year (“Troubadour”). Strait is also nominated along with Lee Ann Womack in the category of Musical Event of the Year for their duet “Everything But Quits.”

Newcomer Zac Brown and the Zac Brown Band (NS74ce, 910, 614ce, 612ce, Baby Taylor, SolidBody Classic, SolidBody Custom, T3) are nominated in four categories: Best New Artist and Vocal Group, as well as Single of the Year and Song of the Year for their country radio hit “Chicken Fried,” off their album The Foundation. Taylor strummers Rascal Flatts (GSMS, 614CE, 810, GSRS, 615CE, 810CE, 714ce,, NS74ce, 855) are also contenders for Best Vocal Group.

The annual awards show is set to air Wednesday, November 11 at 8:00 p.m. on ABC from the Sommet Center in Nashville and will be hosted by Carrie Underwood and Brad Paisley.